top of page

And the winners are...

Oh, what a beautiful morning;

Oh, what a beautiful day!

I've got a beautiful feeeeeeling...

Everything's going my way!

I can’t help it, but this song from the Rogers & Hammerstein musical Oklahoma! has been running through my head all morning. Here in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis/St. Paul we are at peak color, and the vivid landscape draws out a bit of drama from me. I would say it’s like my lovely cup of pour over coffee this morning, the hot water drawing out all that coffee goodness from the beans, but that’s more of a concentration of goodness, not an explosion. Maybe like popcorn? The song just burst out of me, drawn by the utterly gorgeous landscape?

Anyway, where was I… Oh, right… a blog post.

I recently ran two “contests” for a free copy of The Scribe’s Daughter which both ended last night while I was asleep. One was via Goodreads, and while I don’t have any reason to expect that the winner follows my blog or webpage, I will still announce here that the lucky winner from that contest is Cynthia Parks. Your signed copy will be winging its way to you soon!

Now on to the drawing from my website. Thanks so much to all of you who entered! Most (all but one) of you didn’t win, but rather than send you off to cry in the corner, I hope it only encourages you to go out and purchase the book! The e-book version is very reasonably priced at only $4.99 from your favorite e-tailer, and the paperback version is only $14.99. That’s one night at the movies folks, and the book lasts longer! Not to mention the fact that your purchase helps keep an indie author like me in business by offering encouragement on those days I think I might want to take up scorpion petting, as Liana Brooks so astutely put it.

As each of you entered, I used a very high-tech, highly sophisticated and highly

sensitive method to execute the randomization of the drawing. It ​was such a precise operation that it would require a complicated blog post to explain, so I’ll just post a photo instead. Oh, and thanks to Starbucks for providing the materials to build said precision randomization equipment (patent pending).

And the winner is…. (*drum roll*) Valerie Bendavid! I will email you to get your mailing information, so please check your spam folder (which is likely where an email from me will end up). Runner-up (and prizeless) congratulations go to Ceridwen Attwood only because Ceridwen’s email address happens to include the word “hedgepig”. Those of you who have read the book will understand why I think that’s funny.

On a serious note, thanks again for all your interest, and for those of you who haven’t read the book yet, please, please, please, please, pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease go buy it and read it? I think it’s pretty good, actually. And I guarantee* that at least 97.9% of you will really like it too!

*When I say “guarantee” I don’t actually mean guarantee in the strictest legal sense. It’s more of a rule of thumb. Actual mileage may vary. Price does not include tax, title, and license. Some assembly required. Each sold separately. Batteries not included. Objects in mirror are closer than they appear. If conditions persist, contact a physician. Keep out of reach of children. Avoid prolonged exposure to direct sunlight. Keep in a cool dark place.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page